From this site, you can purchase hunting and fishing licenses,
combination licenses and make donations to the WDFW.
The license buying process is fairly easy, especially if you have some
information ready before you begin. Now is a good time to get out
your social security number, credit card, and any previous or current
licenses. Note: It will normally require
7-10 business days to receive your license documents in the mail.
Please allow adequate time for your license to reach you when making hunting or
fishing plans. If you are planning on engaging in any of the activities
listed below within the next 10 days, please see an authorized Washington
license retail agent.
Fish for salmon, steelhead, sturgeon, halibut or Dungeness crab.
Hunt for deer, elk, bear, cougar or turkey.
All other fishing and hunting opportunities can be pursued
immediately upon purchase of an Internet license by using the
Authorization Number provided to you at the end of the transaction
until your licenses have arrived in the mail.
License documents not received in the mail must be reported within
30 days of the purchase to WDFW at 1-360-902-2464. Replacement
fees may apply after 30 days.
Notice: If you are a Non-US Citizen without a driver license or WILD ID, please contact WDFW at 1-360-902-2464 to purchase
a Washington license.
WARNING: Some of the information provided to the Department of Fish & Wildlife while purchasing
a license is subject by law to public disclosure. However, information concerning social
security numbers and children under 13 are protected by federal law from public disclosure.
If you are purchasing a Discover 1 Day Use Permit online,
you will need to be able to print the document after your purchase is
complete. Your 1 Day Use Permit
will not be mailed to you. If you do not have the ability to print,
you will need to purchase your 1 Day permit at a license dealer. To find a
dealer near you, click
Anyone wishing to hunt in Washington is required to have a hunting license.
Individuals born after January 1, 1972
must show proof that they have successfully completed a hunter
education course here or in another state or province.
An out-of-state license does not qualify as valid proof.
A general fishing license is required for an individual 15 years of age and over,
unless fishing for albacore tuna, carp, crayfish and smelt.
A shellfish license is required to take anything classified under state shellfish regulations,
including sea cucumbers, seaweed, and even squid.
Children under the age of 15 do not need a fishing license, but
must have a Catch Record Card in their possession if fishing
for steelhead, salmon, sturgeon, Dungeness crab or halibut. However,
children, age 14, may purchase a fishing license in anticipation of
an upcoming 15th birthday.
Throughout the transaction process, sensitive data transmissions between
your browser and the server are secured. The site is certified by
You don't need a printer to purchase licenses online.
You may wish to print the sales receipt for your records as proof of payment
of the fees (a copy of the receipt will also be emailed to you if your email
address is provided). For license purchases, you may also wish to print the
authorization code which you may be able to use for hunting or fishing in
certain cases until your actual license documents arrive via the mail.
Your printed or e-mailed receipt is NOT your
official document for license privileges.